Parrikar wins Panaji Assembly by-election

Parrikar wins Panaji Assembly by-election

Ruling BJP today won the by-elections to two assembly seats in Goa, with Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar proving critics wrong by winning from Panaji and health minister Vishwajit Rane won from Valpoi.

N Chandrababu Naidu-headed Telugu Desam Party defeated its arch rival YSR Congress in Nandyal Assembly constituency of Andhra Pradesh. In Valpoi constituency of Goa by-poll BJP's Vishwajeet Rane won by a margin of 10,066 votes. The bypolls were held in three states for total four seats on August 23.

TDP candidate Brahmananda Reddy, who won the Nandhyal constituency, polled 97,076 votes beating his nearest rival YSR Congress party nominee Silpa Mohan Reddy, who netted 69,610 votes.

AAP spokesperson Nagender Sharma tweeted, "Big takeaways from Bawana: Myth spread by political pandits that AAP only does well at the cost of Congress has been firmly busted.West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee also congratulated her Delhi counterpart". Before joining the Union Cabinet, he had been winning the Panaji seat since 1994. Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won the Bawana Assembly bypoll.

The Nandyal election was also being seen as a referendum on TDP-BJP rule, ahead of the 2019 Assembly elections.

Goa CM Manohar Parrikar won the Panaji seat. Rane had resigned as MLA after leaving the Congress. BJP now has 14 MLAs in the state Assembly, while the Congress has 16 MLAs. Having lost Pratapsingh's ambitious son to the BJP, the Congress could well be staring at the loss of at least three seats to the saffron party in this part of interior Goa in the future if it doesn't work to counter the Ranes' influence in the Sattari taluka. He subsequently joined the BJP which made him a minister. Congress' Surender Kumar bagged 31, 919 votes. Parrikar, who returned to state politics in March this year after a stint as the defence minister, defeated his Congress rival Girish Chodankar, considered close to Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi, by 4803 votes.

Related Articles