US Open: Should Phil Mickelson have been disqualified for penalty?

US Open: Should Phil Mickelson have been disqualified for penalty?

His fourth shot onto the putting surface came to rest 18 feet from the hole, and when his attempt at a bogey putt ran past the hole, Mickelson rushed over and hit his ball a second time before it came to rest. "I took the two-shot penalty, moved on, and there's not much more to say". There was actually some chatter about Mickelson being disqualified based on Rule 33-7 or Rule 1-2; however, the USGA chose to penalize him under Rule 14-5 and not Rule 1-2 because Mickelson did not deflect or stop the ball.

There was some initial confusion about Mickelson's score, both among Fox's crew and the U.S. Open website, which initially gave Mickelson a nine for the hole.

Regardless, Mickelson took plenty of heat from the announcers and those on Twitter. Daly was on No. 8 in the final round when he took an 11 on the hole and signed for an 81.

And just in case you didn't understand, he added the following while speaking to reporters: "If somebody's offended by that, I apologize".

"I've had multiple times where I've wanted to do that, " Mickelson said, explaining he preferred the two-stroke penalty to having to play the ball from off the green. "It's just one of them things that just happened". The ball then started rolling back toward the cup, but missed.

Mickelson insisted that he was well aware of the rules and that he knew a two shot penalty was coming his way for his indiscretion. Mickelson then tapped in for par.

It was reminiscent of John Daly hitting a moving ball at Pinehurst No. 2 in the 1999 U.S. Open.

It was not immediately clear what was Mickelson's motive in striking the ball.

It was a shocking display on the 13th green at Shinnecock Hills on Saturday.

Either way, it's a remarkable turnaround from Mickelson's optimism from earlier in the week, when he was hoping to complete the career Grand Slam. He now sits 17-over for the championship.

Related Articles